What is the new law for guns in Florida?The new law allows anyone who can legally own a gun in Florida to carry a concealed firearm without a permit. People who do carry must provide valid identification if requested by law enforcement. This law does not allow you to cross state lines or enter areas that prohibit firearms.
Can I buy a gun with my driver's license in Florida?Florida does not require a permit or license to buy a gun and does not require registration. There is no limit on the number of firearms you can own or buy in a single transaction.
How much is a gun license in Florida?How much does a Florida Concealed Weapon License cost? The initial fee for a Florida Concealed Weapon License for residents and non-residents is $102 which includes a $42 fingerprint processing fee and a $60 initial license fee.
Where do I get a Florida gun permit?You can apply for a concealed weapon license in person at a Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) regional office or an authorized Florida tax collector's office in your area.
Florida OKs bill to carry concealed guns without a permit
How long is a Florida gun license good for?Your Florida concealed weapon or firearm license is valid for a period of seven years. Approximately 95 days prior to the expiration date of your license, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) will send you a renewal form with complete instructions on how to renew your license.
Why is open carry illegal in Florida?If you display a handgun in a situation that cannot be legally justified as self-defense (according to Florida Statutes 776.012 and/or 776.032), you could be subject to criminal charges. Therefore, firearms cannot be openly carried.
Can you open carry in Florida now?Florida is not an open carry state. A gun owner also cannot carry inside schools, universities, bars, or government buildings.
Can you carry a gun on your own property in Florida?Lawful Open Carry in Florida
In addition, § 790.25(3)(n) states that one can openly carry a weapon in his/her home or place of business. However, a guest in your home may not lawfully open carry on your property, even with your permission.
How many guns can you own legally in Florida?Florida imposes no restrictions on sales or purchases of multiple firearms.
What guns are restricted in Florida?According to Florida Statute § 790.221, people are prohibited from owning or being in possession of short-barreled rifles, short-barreled shotguns, or machine guns that are in operable conditions.
What prevents you from getting a gun in Florida?You are not eligible for licensure if you are under arrest or currently charged with any felony, or crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year; or any crime of violence, including crimes of domestic violence; or any crime under the provisions of Chapter 893, Florida Statutes, or similar laws of any other ...
Can you keep your gun loaded in your car in Florida?The gun must be securely encased or otherwise not readily accessible. You must keep your gun secured and ensure it cannot be grabbed easily by any passengers. This may involve having it snapped into a holster, stored in a glove compartment, or put in a gun case with a cover (locked or unlocked).
Can you open carry in your backyard in Florida?FIREARMS IN HOMES OR ON YOUR OWN PROPERTY: Firearms can be stored anywhere in the home and in any method as long as the firearm is secure from a childs access or other unauthorized persons. It is lawful to openly carry a firearm on your own property.
Can I take my gun on a road trip to Florida?Interstate Travel
Per federal law 18 USC § 926A, every U.S. citizen may legally transport firearms across state lines as long as he or she is legally allowed to possess the weapons in both the state of origin as well as the destination.